Reading and Reading and Reading

I love reading.

Books are like my movies! However, I love movies too! Which is probably why I am trying to scarf some particular books up before they hit the movies. Recently, I have read, Serena by Ron Rash, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, and Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth. I have the last in that series on hold and just picked up Labor Day by Joyce Maynard that I am about to read. Someone also recommended Khaled Hosseini’s new book, And the Mountains Echoed (or maybe A Thousand Splendid Suns). I loved The Kite Runner, so I might have to give these a try as well. And I’ve actually never read or saw Gone With the Wind. I’m thinking on that too. My library card is wearing out. Love. 

Reading is awesome.

My son sits and reads Unbroken! As I write this. Smile. Really into the war tales. He also loves his graphic novels and anything information based. Guinness records or hockey stats have been known to suck him in for periods of time. However, he did express interest in Divergent, which I have placed on hold for him. Like his mother a bit, maybe. Stories of dystopian societies. I can’t get enough. 1984. Yes. Love. We will see what he thinks. His witty dry humor might find a place to suit him well if chooses a career in writing. 

My daughter sits on her bed as I write. Lost in a story. Oblivious to all else around her. She has flown through series quicker than we can replenish. From Harry Potter to Percy Jackson to many numerous tales in between. She can sit on her bed for hours lost in her books. Joy. Soon, she will be publishing her own tales. 

And I love when my husband falls into bed early absorbed in a tale. He often gives me a hard time for not interacting with the family when my nose is in a good book. But, he’s really no different. Ha. And I love it. 

Stories are treasures – like many have said before. The more I read the more I crave to read and to write. I do see this in my own talented kiddos. And enjoy every piece they bring me to read. 

Thoughts and smiles. 

Here’s to reading. Cheers. 

Leave a Reply

